Nexstar Broadcasting to Host Exclusive Multi-Market Live Telecast of Virtual Town Hall with Missouri’s U.S. Senators and Entire Delegation To the U.S. House of Representatives on Thursday, May 7

Congressional Leaders Will Address Federal Response to Coronavirus Outbreak


Five Nexstar Stations Bring Together More than Five Million Viewers Across 99 Missouri Counties via Television Broadcast and Livestream Video


LOUIS, MO and IRVING, TX – Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc., a wholly owned subsidiary of Nexstar Media Group, Inc. (Nasdaq: NXST), announced today that it will host an exclusive live virtual Town Hall meeting, “COVID-19 Congressional Town Hall,” featuring both of Missouri’s U.S. Senators and all eight members of Missouri’s delegation to the U.S. House Representatives on Thursday, May 7, 2020, at 8:00 p.m. CT. The Town Hall will include U.S. Senator Roy Blunt (R), U.S. Senator Josh Hawley (R), U.S. Representative Wm. Lacy Clay (D-1), U.S. Representative Ann Wagner (R-2), U.S. Representative Blaine Luetkemeyer (R-3), U.S. Representative Vicky Hartzler (R-4), U.S. Representative Emanuel Cleaver (D-5), U.S. Rep. Sam Graves (R-6), U.S. Representative Billy Long (R-7), and U.S. Representative Jason Smith (R-8) who will address the federal response to the coronavirus pandemic and take questions from viewers across Missouri. Due to restrictions on large gatherings, the Senators and Representatives will remotely join the broadcast and livestream.

The one-hour virtual Town Hall will be hosted from the studios of KPLR-TV and KTVI-TV in St. Louis, MO, and bring together more than five million viewers across 99 of Missouri’s 114 counties via live television broadcast and livestream video.  The live broadcast will air from 8 p.m. to 9 p.m. CT.  Viewers are invited to submit questions via social media using the hashtag #MOTownHall.  Preference will be given to those questions submitted on social media as videos rather than texts.  Viewers can also submit questions via email to

The television broadcast will be hosted by KTVI-TV anchor and political analyst, John Brown, and will air on five of Nexstar’s stations serving Missouri including, KTVI-TV (FOX) and KPLR-TV (CW) in St. Louis, WDAF-TV (FOX) in Kansas City, KRBK-TV (FOX) in Springfield, and KSNF-TV (NBC) in Joplin.  The Town Hall will also air on KMIZ-TV (ABC) in Columbia and KFVS-TV (CBS) in Cape Girardeau. Local viewers may access a livestream of the Town Hall online by visiting the website of their local Nexstar television station (see table below for list of participating stations and station website links).

The Town Hall will open with a review of the latest developments in the battle against the pandemic, after which Mr. Brown will pose questions to Senators Blunt and Hawley about relief efforts across the state.  Mr. Brown will then speak with members of Missouri’s congressional delegation to assess the specific needs of each district and ask questions posed by viewers.

“When viewers want the most current and critically important information and an opportunity to engage with their elected representatives, they know they can turn to Nexstar’s local television stations to provide them the latest news and access to their legislative leaders,” said Tim Busch, President of Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc.  “Nexstar is proud to harness the combined resources of our local station operations serving Missouri’s local communities to bring together all of the state’s federal legislative leaders, connecting them live with more than five million viewers across the ‘Show-Me State.’  We are grateful to Senators Blunt and Hawley, and all of Missouri’s U.S. Representatives for their participation and for allowing Nexstar to serve as the host of this important event.”

Missouri’s COVID-19 Congressional Town Hall

Thursday, May 7, 2020

8:00 p.m. to 9:00 p.m. Central

KPLR-TV/KTVI-TV studios in St. Louis, MO

Hosts: FOX 2 News Anchor and political analyst, John Brown


  • S. Senator Josh Hawley (R)
  • S. Senator Roy Blunt (R)
  • S. Representative Wm. Lacy Clay (D-1)
  • S. Representative Ann Wagner (R-2)
  • S. Representative Blaine Luetkemeyer (R-3)
  • S. Representative Vicky Hartzler (R-4)
  • S. Representative Emanuel Cleaver (D-5)
  • S. Representative Sam Graves (R-6)
  • S. Representative Billy Long (R-7)
  • S. Representative Jason Smith (R-8)

The Town Hall will be carried on the following Nexstar stations and websites:

Station Network Market Station Website Social
KTVI-TV FOX St. Louis, MO @FOX2now
KPLR-TV CW St. Louis, MO @KPLR11
WDAF-TV FOX Kansas City, MO @fox4kc
KRBK-TV FOX Springfield, MO @Kolr10kozl
KSNF-TV NBC Joplin, MO @knsf16

Note: In addition to the live television broadcast, viewers may also access a livestream of the Town Hall online by visiting their local participating Nexstar station’s website.

About Nexstar Media Group, Inc.

Nexstar Media Group is a leading diversified media company that leverages localism to bring new services and value to consumers and advertisers through its traditional media, digital and mobile media platforms. Nexstar owns, operates, programs or provides sales and other services to 196 television stations and related digital multicast signals reaching 114 markets or approximately 38% of all U.S. television households (reflecting the FCC’s UHF discount). Nexstar’s portfolio includes primary affiliates of NBC, CBS, ABC, FOX, MyNetworkTV and The CW. Nexstar’s community portal websites offer additional hyper-local content and verticals for consumers and advertisers, allowing audiences to choose where, when and how they access content while creating new revenue opportunities. Nexstar also owns WGN America, a growing national general entertainment cable network and a 31.3% ownership stake in TV Food Network, a top tier cable asset.  For more information please visit

Media Contacts:

Suzi Mahe

Vice President of Creative Services


314/2137431 or


Gary Weitman

EVP & Chief Communication Officer

Nexstar Media Group, Inc.

312/222-3394 or


Investor Contacts:

Joseph Jaffoni, Jennifer Neuman


212/835-8500 or

© 1998-2024, Nexstar Media Group, Inc. | All rights reserved