Nexstar Broadcasting To Host Exclusive Multi-Market Virtual Town Hall Telecast With New York Congressional Delegation On April 28

Eight U.S. House Representatives from Region Will Address Federal Response to Coronavirus Outbreak

15 Nexstar TV Stations Brings Together More Than Six Million Viewers Across 49 Counties of  Upstate New York via Television Broadcast and Livestream Video

ALBANY, NY and IRVING, Texas (April 27, 2020) – Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc., a wholly owned subsidiary of Nexstar Media Group, Inc. (Nasdaq: NXST), announced today that it will host a live virtual Town Hall meeting, “COVID-19: Congressional Town Hall,” with eight U.S. Representatives from upstate New York congressional districts on Tuesday, April 28, 2020, at 7:00 p.m. ET. The Town Hall will feature U.S. Rep. Antonio Delgado (D-19), U.S. Rep. Paul Tonko (D-20), U.S. Rep. Elise Stefanik (R-21), U.S. Rep. Anthony Brindisi (D-22), U.S. Rep. Tom Reed (R-23), U.S. Rep. John Katko (R-24), U.S. Rep. Joe Morelle (D-25) and U.S. Rep. Brian Higgins (D-26), who will address the federal response to the coronavirus pandemic and take questions from viewers across upstate New York. Due to restrictions on large gatherings, the representatives will remotely join the exclusive broadcast and livestream.

The one-hour virtual Town Hall will be hosted from the studios of WTEN-TV and WXXA-TV in Albany, NY, and bring together more than six million viewers in 49 counties across the state via live television broadcast and livestream video. The exclusive live broadcast will air from 7 p.m. to 8 p.m. ET, and the livestream will continue until 8:30 p.m. ET. Viewers will be invited to submit questions to the representatives via social media using the hashtag #NYCoronavirus. Viewers can also email questions to

The television broadcast will be hosted by WTEN-TV/WXXA-TV anchor and political affairs reporter Tim Lake and will air exclusively on 15 Nexstar stations across upstate New York, including WTEN-TV (ABC) and WXXA-TV (FOX) in Albany, WIVB-TV (CBS) and WNLO-TV (CW) in Buffalo, WROC-TV (CBS) in Rochester, WSYR-TV (ABC) in Syracuse, WVNY-TV (ABC) and WFFF-TV (FOX) in Plattsburgh, WBGH-CD (NBC) and WIVT-TV (ABC) in Binghamton, WETM-TV (NBC) in Elmira, WUTR-TV (ABC), WFXV-TV (FOX) and WPNY-LP in Utica, and WWTI-TV (ABC) in Watertown. Local viewers may also access a livestream of the Town Hall online by visiting the website of their local Nexstar television station (see table below for list of participating stations and station website links).

The Town Hall will open with Mr. Lake providing a recap of the latest developments in the pandemic and posing questions to the representatives. The broadcast will then move to questions submitted by viewers around the state. Viewers can pose a question to the representatives via a variety of social media platforms using the hashtag #NYCoronavirus, or by email to Preference will be given to those questions submitted on social media as videos rather than texts.

“When viewers need critically important information and want to interact with their federal legislative leaders, they know they can turn to Nexstar’s local television stations as a trusted source of news,” said Tim Busch, President of Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. “The unprecedented unique format of this Town Hall will bring together viewers across upstate New York, providing them with the latest information about the federal response to the coronavirus outbreak and giving them a chance to ask questions. We are proud to harness the combined resources of our local television stations throughout the great state of New York to bring this virtual Town Hall to life. We are grateful to each of these representatives for their participation and for allowing Nexstar Broadcasting’s vast New York market operations to deliver this special event to viewers across a significant footprint of the state.”

U.S. Representatives from Upstate New York Virtual Town Hall Television Broadcast and Livestream

Tuesday, April 28, 2020
7:00 p.m. to 8:00 p.m. ET

Host: Tim Lake, Anchor, WTEN-TV/WXXA-TV


  • U.S. Rep. Antonio Delgado (D-19)
  • U.S. Rep. Paul Tonko (D-20)
  • U.S. Rep. Elise Stefanik (R-21)
  • U.S. Rep. Anthony Brindisi (D-22)
  • U.S. Rep. Tom Reed (R-23)
  • U.S. Rep. John Katko (R-24)
  • U.S. Rep. Joe Morelle (D-25)
  • U.S. Rep. Brian Higgins (D-26)

Town Hall will be carried on the following stations and websites:

Station Network Market Station Website Social
WTEN-TV ABC Albany @wten
WXXA-TV FOX Albany @wten
WIVB-TV CBS Buffalo @news4buffalo
WNLO-TV CW Buffalo @news4buffalo
WROC-TV CBS Rochester @News_8
WSYR-TV ABC Syracuse @NewsChannel9
WBGH-CD NBC Binghamton @NewsChannel34
WIVT-TV ABC Binghamton @NewsChannel34
WETM-TV NBC Elmira @WETM18News
WUTR-TV ABC Utica @cnyhomepage
WFXV-TV FOX Utica @cnyhomepage
WPNY-LP MyNet Utica @cnyhomepage
WWTI-TV ABC Watertown @InformNNY

Note: In addition to the live television broadcast, viewers may also access a livestream of the Town Hall online by visiting their local participating Nexstar station’s website.

About Nexstar Media Group, Inc.

Nexstar Media Group is a leading diversified media company that leverages localism to bring new services and value to consumers and advertisers through its traditional media, digital and mobile media platforms. Nexstar owns, operates, programs or provides sales and other services to 196 television stations and related digital multicast signals reaching 114 markets or approximately 38% of all U.S. television households (reflecting the FCC’s UHF discount). Nexstar’s portfolio includes primary affiliates of NBC, CBS, ABC, FOX, MyNetworkTV and The CW. Nexstar’s community portal websites offer additional hyper-local content and verticals for consumers and advertisers, allowing audiences to choose where, when and how they access content while creating new revenue opportunities. Nexstar also owns WGN America, a growing national general entertainment cable network and a 31.3% ownership stake in TV Food Network, a top tier cable asset. For more information please visit

Media Contact:
Jerry Walsh
Vice President of Local Content Development
Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc.
585/287-8084 or

Gary Weitman
EVP & Chief Communication Officer
Nexstar Media Group, Inc.
312/222-3394 or

Joseph Jaffoni, Jennifer Neuman
212/835-8500 or

# # #

© 1998-2024, Nexstar Media Group, Inc. | All rights reserved