Nexstar Broadcasting to Host Exclusive Statewide Telecast of Virtual Town Hall with Texas Governor Greg Abbott on March 19

Governor to Address Statewide Response to Coronavirus Outbreak, Joined by Top State Officials in Health, Infectious Diseases, Education, and Emergency Management 


Nexstar Brings Texas Communities Together via Television Broadcast and Livestream Video


IRVING, Texas (March 17, 2020) – Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc., a wholly owned subsidiary of Nexstar Media Group, Inc. (Nasdaq: NXST) announced today that it will host a live virtual Town Hall meeting with Texas Governor Greg Abbott on Thursday, March 19, 2020 at 7:00 p.m. CT.  The governor will address the statewide response to the current coronavirus outbreak and will be joined by top state government officials from the departments of health, infectious diseases, education, and emergency management.  Due to restrictions on large gatherings, the one-hour virtual Town Hall will take place at the studios of KXAN-TV in Austin, Texas, and bring viewers in communities across the state together via live television broadcast and livestream video.  Viewers will be invited to submit questions to the Governor and the other state officials via social media using the hashtag #AskAbbott.

The television broadcast will be hosted by KXAN-TV anchor Robert Hadlock and will air exclusively on 14 Nexstar stations across the state, including KIAH-TV (CW), KDAF-TV (CW), KXAN-TV (NBC), KRBC-TV (NBC), KAMR-TV (NBC), KVEO-TV (NBC), KTSM-TV (NBC), KLBK-TV (CBS), KMID-TV (ABC), KSAN-TV (NBC), KTAL-TV (NBC), KETK-TV (NBC), KWKT-TV (FOX) and KFDX-TV (NBC).  Local viewers may also access a livestream of the Town Hall online by visiting their local Nexstar station’s website (see table below for list of participating stations and station website links).

Joining the Governor for the virtual Town Hall will be: Dr. John Hellerstedt, Texas Department of State Health Services Commissioner; Nim Kidd, Chief of the Texas Division of Emergency Management, Imelda Garcia, Associate Commissioner of Laboratory and Infectious Disease Services at the Texas Department of State Health Services; and Mike Morath, Texas Education Agency Commissioner.  The Town Hall will open with Governor Abbott providing the latest information on the state’s response to the coronavirus crisis, followed by a fifteen-minute question and answer session between Governor Abbott, the other state officials, and Mr. Hadlock.  The broadcast will then allow approximately forty-five minutes of questions submitted by viewers around the state.  Viewers can pose a question to the Governor or any of the show’s guests via a variety of social media platforms using the hashtag #AskAbbott. Preference will be given to those questions submitted as videos rather than texts.

“During times of crisis and uncertainty, viewers know they can turn to Nexstar’s local television stations as a trusted source of important news and information,” said Tim Busch, President of Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc.  “The unprecedented unique format of this Town Hall will bring together viewers across Texas, providing them with the latest information about the state’s response to the coronavirus outbreak and giving them a chance to ask questions of the Governor and those leading the fight against the spread of the virus.  We are proud to harness the combined resources of our local station operations throughout Texas to bring this virtual Town Hall to life, and we are grateful to Governor Abbott for allowing Nexstar to serve as the host of this special event.”

Texas Governor Greg Abbott Virtual Town Hall Television Broadcast and Livestream

Thursday, March 17, 2020

7:00 p.m. to 8:00 p.m. CT

KXAN-TV studios

Host: Robert Hadlock, KXAN-TV


  • Governor Greg Abbott
  • John Hellerstedt, Texas Department of State Health Services Commissioner
  • Nim Kidd, Chief of the Texas Division of Emergency Management
  • Imelda Garcia, Associate Commissioner of Laboratory and Infectious Disease Services at the Texas Department of State Health Services
  • Mike Morath, Texas Education Agency Commissioner 

Town Hall will be carried on the following stations and websites:

Station Network Market Station Website Social
KTAB-TV NBC Abilene @KTABnews






Amarillo @KAMRLocal4News
KVEO-TV NBC Brownsville @kveotv23


Lubbock @KLBKNews
KMID-TV ABC Midland/Odessa @Big2News
KSAN-TV NBC San Angelo @ksannews
KTAL-TV NBC Shreveport @NBC6News
KYLE FOX Bryan College Station @KWKTFOX44
KFDX-TV NBC Wichita Falls @TexomasHomepage
KIAH-TV CW Houston @CW39Houston
KDAF-TV CW Dallas @CW33

Note: In addition to the live television broadcast, viewers may also access a live-stream of the Town Hall online by visiting their local participating Nexstar station’s website.

About Nexstar Media Group, Inc.

Nexstar Media Group is a leading diversified media company that leverages localism to bring new services and value to consumers and advertisers through its traditional media, digital and mobile media platforms. Nexstar owns, operates, programs or provides sales and other services to 196 television stations and related digital multicast signals reaching 114 markets or approximately 38% of all U.S. television households (reflecting the FCC’s UHF discount). Nexstar’s portfolio includes primary affiliates of NBC, CBS, ABC, FOX, MyNetworkTV and The CW. Nexstar’s community portal websites offer additional hyper-local content and verticals for consumers and advertisers, allowing audiences to choose where, when and how they access content while creating new revenue opportunities. Nexstar also owns WGN America, a growing national general entertainment cable network and a 31.3% ownership stake in TV Food Network, a top tier cable asset.  For more information please visit

Media Contact:

Chris Berg

Senior Director of Local Content Development

Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc.



Gary Weitman

EVP & Chief Communication Officer

Nexstar Media Group, Inc.

312/222-3394 or


Joseph Jaffoni, Jennifer Neuman


212/835-8500 or


© 1998-2024, Nexstar Media Group, Inc. | All rights reserved