Nexstar Broadcasting To Host Exclusive Multi-Market Live Telecast of Virtual Town Hall with Indiana Federal, State and Local Leaders on Wednesday, May 20

U.S. Lawmakers, Indiana State Economic Officials, and Mayors from Six of Indiana’s Largest Cities Will Address Efforts to Restart the Economy After the Coronavirus Outbreak

Nexstar Brings Together Nearly Five Million Viewers Across 71 Counties of Indiana via Television Broadcast and Livestream Video

INDIANAPOLIS, IN and IRVING, Texas (May 19, 2020) – Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc., a wholly owned subsidiary of Nexstar Media Group, Inc. (Nasdaq: NXST), announced today that it will host a second exclusive live virtual Town Hall meeting, “IN Focus: A Coronavirus Town Hall,” featuring two members of Indiana’s delegation to the U.S. House Representatives, mayors from six of the state’s largest cities, and several state economic officials on Wednesday, May 20, 2020, at 7:00 p.m. ET.  The Town Hall will include U.S. Rep. Susan Brooks (R-5), U.S. Rep. Andre Carson (D-7), Indianapolis Mayor Joe Hogsett (D), Evansville Mayor Lloyd Winnecke (R), Terre Haute Mayor Duke Bennett (R), South Bend Mayor James Mueller (D), Fort Wayne Mayor Tom Henry (D), Fishers Mayor Scott Fadness (R), Indiana Workforce Development Director Josh Richardson, Indiana Chamber of Commerce President & CEO Kevin Brinegar and other guests.  Due to restrictions on large gatherings, all participants will remotely join the broadcast and livestream.

The one-hour virtual Town Hall will be hosted from the studios of WXIN-TV and WTTV-TV in Indianapolis, IN, and bring together nearly five million viewers in 71 counties across Indiana via live television broadcast and livestream video.  The live broadcast will air from 7 p.m. to 8 p.m. ET, and the livestream will continue until 8:30 p.m. ET.  Viewers can submit their questions at

The television broadcast will be hosted by FOX59 anchor and political affairs reporter Dan Spehler, along with FOX59 anchor, Fanchon Stinger, and CBS4 anchor, Bob Donaldson, and will air on five Nexstar stations, including WXIN-TV (FOX) and WTTV-TV (CBS) in Indianapolis, WEHT-TV (ABC) in Evansville, WANE-TV (CBS) in Ft. Wayne, and WTWO-TV (NBC) in Terre Haute.  The Town Hall will also air on WBND-TV (ABC) in South Bend, WPBI (NBC) in Lafayette, and WAWV-TV (ABC) in Terre Haute.  Local viewers may access a livestream of the Town Hall online by visiting the website of their local Nexstar television station (see table below for list of participating stations and station website links).

The Town Hall will begin by addressing the topics of unemployment benefits, stimulus money and the Heroes Act. From there, the discussion will turn to reopening businesses, work protections and the Paycheck Protection Program. Finally, the state’s mayors will answer questions on how they are working to re-start their local economies. Participants will answer questions from hosts as well as those submitted by viewers.

“Indiana residents looking to hear about the impact of the pandemic, as well as express their concerns and ask questions regarding the re-opening of the state’s economy, can rely on Nexstar’s local television stations to provide them the latest news and to connect them to their government and community leaders,” said Tim Busch, President of Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc.  “Nexstar is proud to harness the combined resources of our broadcast operations serving Indiana’s local communities to bring together the state’s key leadership, connecting them live with over five million viewers across the Hoosier State.  We are grateful to the Representatives Brooks and Carson, all the mayors and our other guests for their participation and for allowing Nexstar to serve as the host of this important event.”

IN Focus: A Coronavirus Virtual Town Hall Television Broadcast and Livestream
Wednesday, May 20, 2020
7:00 p.m. to 8:00 p.m. ET

Hosts: Dan Spehler, Fanchon Stinger, Anchors WXIN-TV and Bob Donaldson, Anchor, WTTV-TV

• U.S. Rep. Susan Brooks (R-5)
• U.S. Rep. Andre Carson (D-7)
• Mayor Joe Hogsett (D) Indianapolis
• Mayor Lloyd Winnecke (R) Evansville
• Mayor Duke Bennett (R) Terre Haute
• Mayor James Mueller (D) South Bend
• Mayor Tom Henry (D) Fort Wayne
• Mayor Scott Fadness (R) Fishers
• Josh Richardson, Indiana Workforce Development Director
• Kevin Brinegar, Indiana Chamber of Commerce President & CEO
• Patrick Tamm, Indiana Restaurant & Lodging Association President & CEO
• Barbara Quandt, National Federation of Independent Business, Indiana Chapter
• Matt Will, University of Indiana Professor of Economy

Town Hall will be carried on the following television stations and websites:

Station Network Market Station Website Social
WXIN-TV FOX Indianapolis @FOX59
WTTV-TV CBS Indianapolis @CBS4Indy
WEHT-TV ABC Evansville @WEHTWTVWlocal
WTWO-TV NBC Terre Haute @WTWOnews
WAWV-TV ABC Terre Haute @WAWVNews
WBND-TV ABC South Bend @ABC57News
WPBI-TV NBC Lafayette

Note: In addition to the live television broadcast, viewers may also access a livestream of the Town Hall online by visiting their local participating Nexstar station’s website.

About Nexstar Media Group, Inc.
Nexstar Media Group is a leading diversified media company that leverages localism to bring new services and value to consumers and advertisers through its traditional media, digital and mobile media platforms. Nexstar owns, operates, programs or provides sales and other services to 196 television stations and related digital multicast signals reaching 114 markets or approximately 38% of all U.S. television households (reflecting the FCC’s UHF discount). Nexstar’s portfolio includes primary affiliates of NBC, CBS, ABC, FOX, MyNetworkTV and The CW. Nexstar’s community portal websites offer additional hyper-local content and verticals for consumers and advertisers, allowing audiences to choose where, when and how they access content while creating new revenue opportunities. Nexstar also owns WGN America, a growing national general entertainment cable network and a 31.3% ownership stake in TV Food Network, a top tier cable asset.  For more information please visit

Media Contacts:
Jerry Walsh
Vice President of Local Content Development
Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc.
585/287-8084 or

Gary Weitman
EVP & Chief Communications Officer
Nexstar Media Group, Inc.
312/222-3394 or

Investor Contacts:
Joseph Jaffoni, Jennifer Neuman
212/835-8500 or

# # #

© 1998-2024, Nexstar Media Group, Inc. | All rights reserved