Nexstar Broadcasting to Host Exclusive Multi-Market Live Telecast of Virtual Town Hall with Pennsylvania’s Federal And State Leaders on Wednesday, May 20

Guests Will Address the Response to Coronavirus Outbreak and the State’s “Move Forward” Plan


 Nexstar Brings Together Over 10 Million Viewers Across 50 Pennsylvania Counties via Television Broadcast and Livestream Video


HARRISBURG, PA and IRVING, TX – Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc., a wholly owned subsidiary of Nexstar Media Group, Inc. (Nasdaq: NXST), announced today that it will host an exclusive live virtual Town Hall meeting, “Coronavirus Town Hall Meeting,” on Wednesday, May 20, 2020, at 7:00 p.m. ET.  The Town Hall will include U.S. Senator Bob Casey (D), U.S. Representative Scott Perry (R-10), Secretary of Health for the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, Dr. Rachel Levine, PEMA Director, Randy Padfield, Secretary of the Pennsylvania Department of Labor & Industry, Jerry Oleksiak, Secretary of Agriculture for the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, Russell Redding, DCED Secretary, Dennis Davin, and PA Chamber President, Gene Barr, who will address the federal and state response to the coronavirus pandemic and take questions from viewers across Pennsylvania.  Due to restrictions on large gatherings, the guests will remotely join the broadcast and livestream.

The one-hour virtual Town Hall will be hosted from the studios of WHTM-TV (ABC), in Harrisburg, PA, and bring together over 10 million viewers across 50 of Pennsylvania’s 67 counties via live television broadcast and livestream video.  The live broadcast will air from 7 p.m. to 8 p.m. ET.  Viewers are invited to submit questions via social media using the hashtag #PATownHall or via email to  Preference will be given to those questions submitted on social media as videos rather than texts.

The television broadcast will be hosted by Dennis Owens, WHTM-TV abc27 anchor and host of “This Week in Pennsylvania,” a weekly political affairs program distributed across the state of Pennsylvania.  The show will air and live stream on seven Nexstar stations serving Pennsylvania including WHTM-TV (ABC) in Harrisburg, WPHL-TV (MyNet) in Philadelphia, WBRE-TV (NBC) in Wilkes-Barre, WTAJ-TV (CBS) in Altoona, WJET-TV (ABC) in Erie, WYTV-TV (ABC) in Youngstown, OH, and WETM-TV (NBC) in Elmira, NY. Viewers may access a livestream of the Town Hall online by visiting,,,,,, and

The Town Hall will open with a review of the latest developments in the battle against the pandemic, after which Mr. Owens will pose his own questions and present those from viewers around the state to the various leaders about relief and reopening efforts across the state.

“Pennsylvania residents looking to hear about the impact of the pandemic, as well as express their concerns and ask questions regarding the re-opening of the state’s economy, can rely on Nexstar’s local television stations to provide them the latest news and be connected to their government and community leaders,” said Tim Busch, President of Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc.  “Nexstar is proud to harness the combined resources of our broadcast operations serving Pennsylvania’s local communities to bring together the state’s key leadership, connecting them live with over 10 million viewers across the Keystone State.  We are grateful to the Senator Casey, Representative Perry, and all our guests for their participation and for allowing Nexstar to serve as the host of this important event.”

Pennsylvania’s Coronavirus Town Hall Meeting

Wednesday, May 20, 2020, 7 p.m. to 8 p.m. ET

WHTM-TV studio in Harrisburg, PA

Host: Dennis Owens, WHTM-TV abc27 anchor and host of “This Week in Pennsylvania”


  • S. Senator Bob Casey (D)
  • S. Representative Scott Perry (R-10)
  • Secretary of Health for the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, Dr. Rachel Levine
  • PEMA Director, Randy Padfield
  • Secretary of the Pennsylvania Department of Labor & Industry, Jerry Oleksiak
  • Secretary of Agriculture for the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, Russell Redding
  • DCED Secretary, Dennis Davin
  • PA Chamber President, Gene Barr

The Town Hall will be carried on the following Nexstar stations and websites:

Station Network Market Station Website Social
WHTM-TV ABC Harrisburg, PA @abc27News
WPHL-TV MyNet Philadelphia, PA
*airing 8-9P  


WBRE-TV NBC Wilkes-Barre, PA @wbreyou
WTAJ-TV CBS Altoona, PA @WTAJnews
WYTV-TV ABC Youngstown, OH @wytv
WETM-TV NBC Elmira, NY @WETM18News

About Nexstar Media Group, Inc.

Nexstar Media Group is a leading diversified media company that leverages localism to bring new services and value to consumers and advertisers through its traditional media, digital and mobile media platforms. Nexstar owns, operates, programs or provides sales and other services to 196 television stations and related digital multicast signals reaching 114 markets or approximately 38% of all U.S. television households (reflecting the FCC’s UHF discount). Nexstar’s portfolio includes primary affiliates of NBC, CBS, ABC, FOX, MyNetworkTV and The CW. Nexstar’s community portal websites offer additional hyper-local content and verticals for consumers and advertisers, allowing audiences to choose where, when and how they access content while creating new revenue opportunities. Nexstar also owns WGN America, a growing national general entertainment cable network and a 31.3% ownership stake in TV Food Network, a top tier cable asset.  For more information please visit

Media Contacts:

Robert G. Bee

Vice President and General Manager


717/236-2727 x207 or


Gary Weitman

EVP & Chief Communications Officer

Nexstar Media Group, Inc.

312/222-3394 or


Investor Contacts:

Joseph Jaffoni, Jennifer Neuman


212/835-8500 or



© 1998-2024, Nexstar Media Group, Inc. | All rights reserved