Nexstar Broadcasting To Host Exclusive Live Multi-Market Telecast of Virtual Town Hall with Members of North Carolina’s Delegation to the U.S. House of Representatives on Tuesday, May 12

U.S. Representatives Will Address Federal Response to Coronavirus Outbreak

Nexstar Brings Together More Than 10 Million Viewers Across 100 North Carolina Counties via Television Broadcast and Livestream Video

RALEIGH, NC and IRVING, TX (May 11, 2020) – Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc., a wholly owned subsidiary of Nexstar Media Group, Inc. (Nasdaq: NXST), announced today that it will host an exclusive live virtual Town Hall meeting, “COVID-19 Response: Congressional Town Hall,” featuring members of North Carolina’s delegation to the U.S. House Representatives on Tuesday, May 12, 2020, at 7:00 p.m. ET.  The Town Hall will include U.S. Representative G.K. Butterfield (D-1), U.S. Representative Greg Murphy (R-3), U.S. Representative David Price (D-4), U.S. Representative Mark Walker (R-6), U.S. Representative Richard Hudson (R-8), U.S. Representative Dan Bishop (R-9), U.S. Representative Alma Adams (D-12), and U.S. Representative Ted Budd (R-13), who will address the federal response to the coronavirus pandemic and take questions from viewers.  Due to restrictions on large gatherings, the members of the U.S. House of Representatives will remotely join the broadcast and livestream.

The one-hour virtual Town Hall will originate from the studios of WNCN -TV/CBS 17 in Raleigh, NC, and bring together more than ten million viewers in 100 counties across North Carolina via live television broadcast and livestream video.  The live broadcast will air from 7 p.m. to 8 p.m. ET.  Viewers can submit their questions via email to  Viewers are also invited to submit questions via social media using the hashtag #NCCOVID19. Preference will be given to those questions submitted on social media as videos rather than texts.

The television broadcast will be hosted by WNCN-TV/CBS 17 anchors Russ Bowen and Angela Taylor, and will air on Nexstar stations serving North Carolina including, WNCN-TV (CBS) in Raleigh, WJZY-TV (FOX) in Charlotte, WYCW-TV (CW) in Spartanburg/Asheville, WAVY-TV (NBC) in Norfolk, VA, WGHP-TV (FOX) in Greensboro/Winston-Salem, NC, and WNCT-TV (CBS) in Greenville, NC.  Local viewers may also access a livestream of the Town Hall online by visiting the website of their local Nexstar television station (see table below for list of participating stations and station website links).

The Town Hall will open with Mr. Bowen and Ms. Taylor providing a recap of the latest developments in the pandemic and plans for reopening the state’s economy.  The hosts will then pose questions to the participating legislators and moderate live and video questions submitted by viewers.

“When viewers want the most current and critically important information and an opportunity to engage with their elected representatives, they know they can turn to Nexstar’s local television stations to provide them the latest news and access to their legislative leaders,” said Tim Busch, President of Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc.  “Nexstar is proud to harness the combined resources of our broadcast operations serving North Carolina’s local communities to bring together many of the state’s federal legislative leaders, connecting them live with more than ten million viewers across the state.  We are grateful to those members of the U.S. House of Representatives for participating and for allowing Nexstar to serve as the host of this important event.”

“COVID-19 Response: Congressional Town Hall” Television Broadcast and Livestream
Tuesday, May 12, 2020
7:00 p.m. to 8:00 p.m. ET
WNCN -TV/CBS 17 studios in Raleigh, NC

Hosts: WNCN-TV/CBS 17’s anchors Russ Bowen and Angela Taylor

Guests (confirmed as of May 7):

 U.S. Representative G.K. Butterfield (D-1)
 U.S. Representative Greg Murphy (R-3)
 U.S. Representative David Price (D-4)
 U.S. Representative Mark Walker (R-6)
 U.S. Representative Richard Hudson (R-8)
 U.S. Representative Dan Bishop (R-9)
 U.S. Representative Alma Adams (D-12)
 U.S. Representative Ted Budd (R-13)

The Town Hall will be carried on the following stations and websites:

Station Network Market Station Website Social
WJZY-TV FOX Charlotte, NC @FOX46News
WYCW-TV CW Spartanburg/Asheville, NC @WSPA7
WGHP-TV FOX Greensboro/Winston-Salem, NC
WNCT-TV CBS Greenville, NC @wnct9

Note: In addition to the live television broadcast, viewers may also access a livestream of the Town Hall online by visiting their local participating Nexstar station’s website.

About Nexstar Media Group, Inc.
Nexstar Media Group is a leading diversified media company that leverages localism to bring new services and value to consumers and advertisers through its traditional media, digital and mobile media platforms. Nexstar owns, operates, programs or provides sales and other services to 196 television stations and related digital multicast signals reaching 114 markets or approximately 38% of all U.S. television households (reflecting the FCC’s UHF discount). Nexstar’s portfolio includes primary affiliates of NBC, CBS, ABC, FOX, MyNetworkTV and The CW. Nexstar’s community portal websites offer additional hyper-local content and verticals for consumers and advertisers, allowing audiences to choose where, when and how they access content while creating new revenue opportunities. Nexstar also owns WGN America, a growing national general entertainment cable network and a 31.3% ownership stake in TV Food Network, a top tier cable asset.  For more information please visit

Media Contacts:
Jerry Walsh
Vice President of Local Content Development
Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc.
585/287-8084 or

Gary Weitman
EVP & Chief Communication Officer
Nexstar Media Group, Inc.
312/222-3394 or

Investor Contacts:
Joseph Jaffoni, Jennifer Neuman
212/835-8500 or

# # #

© 1998-2024, Nexstar Media Group, Inc. | All rights reserved