Nexstar Broadcasting to Host Exclusive Multi-Market Live Telecast of Virtual Town Hall with Michigan Congressional Leaders on Wednesday, June 3

U.S. Senators and Representatives Will Address Federal Response to Coronavirus, Protests & Flooding


Nexstar Brings Together More Than 1.5 million households and residents from 66 counties across Michigan via Television Broadcast and Livestream Video


GRAND RAPIDS, MI and IRVING, Texas (June 2, 2020) – Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc., a wholly owned subsidiary of Nexstar Media Group, Inc. (Nasdaq: NXST), announced today that it will host an exclusive live virtual Town Hall meeting, “The State of Michigan: A Virtual Town Hall with Congressional Leaders,” featuring members of Michigan’s delegation to Congress on Wednesday, June 3rd 2020, at 7:00 p.m. ET.  The Town Hall will include U.S. Senator Debbie Stabenow (D), U.S. Senator Gary Peters (D), U.S. Representative Jack Bergman (R-1), U.S. Representative Bill Huizenga (R-2), U.S. Representative Justin Amash (L-3), U.S. Representative John Moolenaar (R-4), U.S. Representative Dan Kildee (D-5), U.S. Representative Fred Upton (R-6), U.S. Representative Tim Walberg (R-7), and U.S. Representative Elissa Slotkin (D-8) who will address the federal response to the coronavirus pandemic and take questions from viewers across Michigan on such topics as the recent protests and riots and flooding.  Due to restrictions on large gatherings, the senators and representatives will remotely join the broadcast and livestream.

The one-hour virtual Town Hall will be hosted from the studios of WOOD TV8 in Grand Rapids, MI, and WLNS-TV in Lansing, MI, and bring together more than 1.5 million television households across 66 counties in the state via live television broadcast and livestream video.  The live broadcast will air from 7 p.m. to 8 p.m. ET.  Viewers can submit their questions at

The television broadcast will be hosted by WOOD TV8 political reporter Rick Albin and WLNS 6 News anchor Sheri Jones, and will air on 3 Nexstar stations, including WOOD TV8 (NBC) in Grand Rapids, WLNS-TV (CBS) in Lansing, and WJMN TV Local 3 (CBS) in Marquette.  The Town Hall will also air on WJRT-TV (ABC) in Flint, and WFQX (FOX) in Cadillac.  Local viewers may access a livestream of the Town Hall online by visiting the website of their local television station (see table below for list of participating stations and station website links).

The Town Hall will open with the latest developments on the recent protests and riots in Michigan cities.  The Senators and Representatives will then be asked about the impact of the pandemic, what’s being done to address the state’s 22 percent unemployment rate, flooding damage, and possible federal assistance.  The moderators will also feature questions posed by viewers.

“When viewers need critically important information and want to interact with their federal legislative leaders, they know they can turn to Nexstar’s local television stations as a trusted source of news,” said Tim Busch, President of Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc.  “The unprecedented unique format of this Town Hall will bring together viewers across the state of Michigan, providing them with the latest information about the federal response to the coronavirus outbreak, the recent protests, and historic flooding. Viewers will have an opportunity to ask questions of their elected representatives.  We are proud to harness the combined resources of our local station operations throughout Michigan to bring this exclusive virtual Town Hall to our viewers.  We are grateful to each of the Senators and Representatives for their participation and for allowing Nexstar to serve as the host of this special event.”

The State of Michigan: A Virtual Town Hall with Congressional Leaders Television Broadcast and Livestream

Wednesday June 3, 2020

7:00 p.m. to 8:00 p.m. ET

WOOD TV8 in Grand Rapids, MI, and WLNS-TV in Lansing, MI

Hosts: WOOD-TV Political Anchor, Rick Albin and WLNS-TV Anchor, Sheri Jones


  • S. Senator Debbie Stabenow (D)
  • S. Senator Gary Peters (D)
  • S. Representative Jack Bergman (R-1)
  • S. Representative Bill Huizenga (R-2)
  • S. Representative Justin Amash (L-3)
  • S. Representative John Moolenaar (R-4)
  • U.S. Representative Dan Kildee (D-5)
  • S. Representative Fred Upton (R-6)
  • S. Representative Tim Walberg (R-7)
  • S. Representative Elissa Slotkin (D-8)

Town Hall will be carried on the following stations and websites:

Station Network Market Station Website Social
WJMN-TV CBS Marquette @WJMN_Local3
WFQX-TV FOX Cadillac @9and10news

Note: In addition to the live television broadcast, viewers may also access a livestream of the Town Hall online by visiting their local participating Nexstar station’s website.

About Nexstar Media Group, Inc.

Nexstar Media Group is a leading diversified media company that leverages localism to bring new services and value to consumers and advertisers through its traditional media, digital and mobile media platforms. Nexstar owns, operates, programs or provides sales and other services to 196 television stations and related digital multicast signals reaching 114 markets or approximately 38% of all U.S. television households (reflecting the FCC’s UHF discount). Nexstar’s portfolio includes primary affiliates of NBC, CBS, ABC, FOX, MyNetworkTV and The CW. Nexstar’s community portal websites offer additional hyper-local content and verticals for consumers and advertisers, allowing audiences to choose where, when and how they access content while creating new revenue opportunities. Nexstar also owns WGN America, a growing national general entertainment cable network and a 31.3% ownership stake in TV Food Network, a top tier cable asset.  For more information please visit

Media Contacts:

Jerry Walsh

Vice President of Local Content Development

Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc.

585/287-8084 or


Gary Weitman

EVP & Chief Communications Officer

Nexstar Media Group, Inc.

312/222-3394 or


Investor Contacts:

Joseph Jaffoni, Jennifer Neuman


212/835-8500 or




© 1998-2024, Nexstar Media Group, Inc. | All rights reserved