Station Profile

Nexstar Media Group purchased WNCN-TV, a CBS affiliate, as part of the acquisition of Media General. WNCN-TV serves 23 counties in the central part of North Carolina from its studios in Raleigh. The station first signed on in 1988 as an independent station. In the fall of 1995, the station became the market’s NBC affiliate. Then in 1996 NBC purchased WNCN-TV and operated the station until it was acquired by Media General in 2006. In recent years the station has received numerous awards including four Edward R. Murrow Awards and ten Regional Emmy Awards. The station is making a name for itself as a leader in the community with campaigns such as “#Brake4Buses” and “#BoozeItLoseIt”. On February 29, 2016, the station switched affiliations and became CBS North Carolina, bringing “America’s Most Watched Network” to viewers.

Market Profile

Raleigh, NC is in the 25th largest DMA in the United States, with a population of approximately 2,790,330 and 1,133,160 television households, as reported by Nielsen Media.

Cable/ADS penetration in the market is estimated to be 53% wired and 33% ADS. The Raleigh-Durham area is home to the Research Triangle Park and Fayetteville is home to the world’s largest military base, Ft. Bragg. Raleigh continues to receive numerous accolades including #3 Best City for Young Professionals, #5 City for the Future and #9 Fastest Growing City.

Source: Nielsen Media and Forbes Magazine

Station Contact Information

1205 Front Street Raleigh, NC 27609 P: (919) 836-1717


Station Contacts

Byron Grandy, VP & General Manager

Chris Wilbur, Director of Sales

Andrea Parquet-Taylor, News Director

Copyright © 1998-2018, Nexstar Media Group, Inc., All rights reserved