Nexstar Media Inc. and Mission Broadcasting, Inc. Television Stations Receive Five National Edward R. Murrow Awards for Outstanding Journalism and Exceptionally Produced Local Content

Television Stations in Austin, TX, Bakersfield, CA, and Little Rock, AR, Honored in Categories of

Digital, Excellence in Innovation, Podcast, Breaking News Coverage, and Hard News

 IRVING, TX (August 12, 2022) – Nexstar Media Inc., a wholly-owned subsidiary of Nexstar Media Group, Inc. (Nasdaq: NXST), announced today that it has earned a total of five National Edward R. Murrow Awards from The Radio Television Digital News Association (RTDNA), including recognition for “Excellence in Innovation,” “Breaking News Coverage,” and “Hard News.”  KXAN-TV in Austin, TX, earned three awards and KGET-TV in Bakersfield, CA, earned one.  KLRT-TV, owned by Mission Broadcasting, Inc.’s but for whom Nexstar produces the news, earned an award for “Hard News.”

Since the company’s founding in 1996, Nexstar has established a companywide commitment to delivering exceptional locally-produced programming and service to the communities in which it operates.  In this year’s competition for the national Edward R. Murrow Awards, Nexstar’s news operations were recognized with the following honors:


KXAN Investigates –
KXAN-TV in Austin, TX

Excellence in Innovation
Mental Competency Consequences: The Hidden and Unreliable Data Texas Tracks … or Doesn’t
KXAN-TV in Austin, TX

Catalyst: Season 4 – Police Transparency Update | ‘Keep the Hope Alive’
KXAN-TV in Austin, TX


Breaking News Coverage
Killed in the Line of Duty
KGET-TV in Bakersfield, CA

Hard News
Victory Over Violence: Young Lives Facing Big Fears
KLRT-TV (Mission Broadcasting) in Little Rock, AR

In addition to the national honors, Nexstar’s news operations at 15 television stations earned 31 Regional Edward R. Murrow Awards earlier this year, including three awards for “Overall Excellence.”

“We are very proud of teams at KXAN-TV, KGET-TV, and Mission’s KLRT-TV and are happy that they are getting their much-deserved recognition with these five National Edward R. Murrow awards,” said Andy Alford, President of the Broadcasting Division of Nexstar Media Inc. “Nexstar’s 5,500 local broadcast journalists aim to produce fact-based and unbiased content; it’s what enables us to develop and maintain a trusted relationship with our audiences. Once again, we applaud our award-winning stations and thank the RTDNA for this tremendous honor.”

Commenting on the awards, Susan Tully, SVP of Local Content Development at Nexstar Media Inc., said, “We are grateful the RTDNA recognized KXAN-TV, KGET-TV, and Mission’s KLRT-TV. It’s a great honor to receive five National Murrow awards as they emphasize Nexstar’s commitment to delivering superior local news, sports, entertainment programming and content to local viewers for our viewers across all screens and devices.”

The RTDNA has been recognizing outstanding achievements in electronic journalism with the Edward R. Murrow Awards since 1971.


About Nexstar Media Group, Inc.
Nexstar Media Group, Inc. (NASDAQ: NXST) is a leading diversified media company that produces and distributes engaging local and national news, sports and entertainment content, including 290,000 hours of original video content each year. Nexstar owns America’s largest local broadcasting group comprised of top network affiliates, with 200 owned or partner stations in 116 U.S. markets reaching 212 million people. Nexstar’s television assets also include NewsNation, America’s fastest-growing national news and entertainment cable network reaching 70 million television homes, popular entertainment multicast networks Antenna TV and Rewind TV, and a 31.3% ownership stake in TV Food Network. The Company’s portfolio of digital assets, including The Hill and BestReviews, are collectively a Top 10 U.S. digital news and information property. In addition to delivering exceptional content and service to our communities, Nexstar provides premium multiplatform advertising opportunities at scale for businesses and brands seeking to leverage the strong consumer engagement of our compelling content offering. For more information, please visit

Nexstar Media Contact:
Gary Weitman
EVP & Chief Communications Officer
312/222-3394 or

Investor Contact:
Joe Jaffoni or Jennifer Neuman
212/835-8500 or

© 1998-2024, Nexstar Media Group, Inc. | All rights reserved